Patience, young Skywalker

Ahh, the good ole materialism, and the bliss it brings us!

Oh, how I wish I was joking.

This past week, I’ve been dealing with the whole “leasing a car” dilemma. And although (based on my spirituality) it shouldn’t be stressing me out, it really has been. Let me tell you, the car I’ve been setting my sights on is a beautiful and luxurious car. It’s been really easy to fall in love with it.

To give you guys a little background, I haven’t had a car in over a year, due to being young, naive, and moving out..so wanting a car has been more apparent than ever before as of late.

Being that I work in a car dealership, the guys I work with want to see me in this car probably more than I do, so the temptation has been real.. TO SAY THE LEAST! My guys worked for two days with our partnered finance company to get me approved. And the waiting game for this process was so crucial on my immature soul! I have a bad habit of getting my hopes high for things like this, to where all my thoughts are consumed with what I wish to happen (yes, all for a new car). I would go running and all I could think about is driving that beauty. I wouldn’t even be focusing on my run, nor would I be in the moment, and it even resulted in me slightly straining a connective muscle from my knee to my hip.

I didn’t realize at the time that I was so caught up in a possession, that I was risking my mental and physical health.

Well, after long hours at the dealership, I was approved for the car and I was so ecstatic. Yeah, I would be car-broke for a while…along with a 3-year commitment to something that doesn’t even have a heart or a brain.

So…I didn’t sign the agreement. Needless to say the insurance quotes I was given were sky high as well, so that made my decision way easier, yet I was still bummed to say the least. I was hurt because I had been building up so much love and energy for this vehicle, and for the moment of driving it off the lot with a huge smile on my face. I got my hopes up, and I was for sure let down.

However, I learned a HUGE lesson through all this..and gained a new philosophy. I learned to (as I have actually learned before) to keep my expectations at a strong 0, and let the cards fall as they may, especially when it comes to materialistic things (I mean, getting upset over not getting a car, really?! How shallow can I get?). IT CAN ALWAYS BE MUCH WORSE!!! Also, I had a great support system behind me to keep my spirits up and I am forever grateful for that. Things come and go, and I am very proud of myself for being brave enough to jump on that opportunity – I believe a better one will come my way anyway (my best friend reminded me of this).

The philosophy I came up with throughout this process was that, living in this human existence, we are meant to love and play, and not take things seriously. Sincerely, yes – we always want to be real and truthful – but lighthearted nonetheless. I was reminded of my spirituality and my soul because of this event, and I am just so thankful for everything I DO have in my life..and I am still in love with the life I live.

Thank you

Love you all

Xo,

-cmb

Leave a Reply

